A Veterans Safeway to Work Program (VSWP) Update from Larry W.

Posted on Updated on

In December, we shared the accomplishments of Larry W., a Veteran who was living at our Veterans Plaza transitional housing program for male Veterans and was receiving vocational assistance through our Veterans Safeway to Work Program (VSWP) made possible by the Safeway Foundation and Vons Foundation and offered by San Joaquin Valley Veterans (SJVV), a project of WestCare California. It is our absolute pleasure to share an update from Larry!

See the original post here: https://westcarecalifornia.wordpress.com/2016/12/28/veterans-safeway-to-work-program-gets-a-vet-back-on-the-road-to-employment/

2/28/2017

“Hello,

My name is Larry W. and I just wanted to let you know that since I completed the United Trucking School, I obtained a job through Bhandal Bros. Trucking, Inc. I drive the 11 Western State Region. If it was not for the Veterans Safeway to Work Program, I do not know where I would be at this point in my life! Before I left the Veteran’s Plaza, my case managers, Denis Brewer and Curtis Combs, assisted me with mock interviewing skills, took me to get my first haircut in over 20 years and made sure that I was groomed well for my interview.

It really feels good to have people like Denis and Curtis on my team. They were good to me at my stay at the Veteran’s Plaza and motivated me to get into my career. During my first run in my diesel, I drove to Arizona and then off to New Mexico. I was able to get an apartment and I am financially stable again. I am at a point in my life where I am happy again. I will be keeping in contact and sending more pictures. My goal in life is to own my own diesel and work for myself. Thanks to the Veteran’s Safeway to Work Program and my case managers at Veteran’s Plaza, my dream of trucking has become a reality!  Now back to trucking, I go…next stop: Portland.” – Larry W.

VSWP Flyer

Leave a Reply

