A Veterans Safeway to Work Program (VSWP) Update from Jose M.

Posted on Updated on

Our Veterans Safeway to Work Program (VSWP) made possible by the Safeway Foundation and Vons Foundation and offered at our Veterans Plaza Grant Per Diem transitional living facility for male Veterans provides vocational assistance to Veterans in need of supplies or training for their desired profession. We’d like to share a letter written by a Veteran that we serve to our wonderful staff that helped him get back on his feet!

Jose M. 2

“Denis and Curtis,

First, let me thank you both for giving me hope again. It’s because of both of you that I am working again and have my Class A driver’s license. Do not let anybody tell you that the program does not work because it worked for me. I use to be strung out on crystal meth, but thanks to God for allowing me to meet you both, I have gotten over that and I am praying that that lifestyle is behind me.

As you both know, I am out and about seeing the world and making good money doing it. You both pushed me to get things done as far as my resume, connecting me to Workforce Connection, mock interviewing me and preparing me to become employment ready. The Veterans Safeway to Work Program (VSWP) did wonders for me! At times, when I did not want to go to school or look for employment, the program and you gentlemen challenged me. Although I am gone, it feels like I never left. I am not just a number to you gentlemen, but you treat me as if I am still a Veteran at the Veterans Plaza. I am able to call and talk to you both about my ex-wife and family issues. You both keep my head on straight and focused.

Jose M. 1

The VSWP program really does work for us Veterans that do not have a job. Your program assisted my fellow Veterans that came before me and myself by getting us placed in jobs! I am back working and I love driving trucks! I thank you both.”

– Jose M.

VSWP Flyer

WCCA Logo PNGFor over 40 years, WestCare California has been providing an opportunity for individuals to lead fuller, richer lives. Our team of multi-cultural, experienced and credentialed staff is dedicated to providing the best care to everyone who enters our doors. Our goal is to uplift the human spirit by providing the skills and support necessary for individuals to achieve their dreams and transform their lives.

WestCare provides a wide spectrum of health and human services in both residential and outpatient environments. Our service domains include mental health & wellness, substance abuse and addiction treatment, housing opportunities, education & prevention, criminal justice and veterans programs. These services are available to adults, children, adolescents, and families.

Leave a Reply

