A Story of Change by Deborah G.

Posted on Updated on

7-19 Blog Post

“On January 17, 2015, I came to Fresno and enrolled with WestCare because I was a drug addict and needed help. I wanted to be a better person and entered into WestCare’s sober living program. One month later, my 25-year-old son Nikolaus was involved in a fatal motorcycle accident in Hawaii. I went to a meeting at WestCare’s program, The Living Room, the next day and collected my 4 month chip in my son’s honor. I kept going to groups and tried to live for my son, Niko. I stayed clean, but had a lot of work to do.

Sad but clean, I attended the first job preparedness class offered by Catholic Charities through Fresno City College in May of 2015. The class given by Dr. Ronda Herb on October 10, 2016 was the motivation behind my successful results. I completed an online course in February of 2017 to become Deborah L Gilleran, RADT (Registered Alcohol and Drug Technician). On March 29, 2017, I began my internship at WestCare California which included facilitating outpatient 12 step meetings and inpatient Wellbriety groups. In the last 10 months, I became involved with Reading and Beyond, where I obtained my GED on May 2, 2017. Upon receiving my GED, I enrolled into a counseling certificate course through California Consortium of Addiction Programs and Professionals (CCAP). I am 4 weeks into that class and in 1 year I will receive my certificate for CADC 1 (Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor.) Along with the course, I will need 3000 intern hours in the drug and alcohol field, which I am blessed to say that I will be able to achieve because I have just accepted a full time job with WestCare California. I am now Deborah L. Gilleran RADT, RMS Counselor Tech!

I have been very blessed to be involved with Catholic Charities, Fresno City College, Reading and Beyond and WestCare California. Thank you all for caring about people in your community!”

Sincerely,

Deborah L. Gilleran

WCCA Logo PNGFor over 40 years, WestCare California has been providing an opportunity for individuals to lead fuller, richer lives. Our team of multi-cultural, experienced and credentialed staff is dedicated to providing the best care to everyone who enters our doors. Our goal is to uplift the human spirit by providing the skills and support necessary for individuals to achieve their dreams and transform their lives.

WestCare provides a wide spectrum of health and human services in both residential and outpatient environments. Our service domains include mental health & wellness, substance abuse and addiction treatment, housing opportunities, education & prevention, criminal justice and veterans programs. These services are available to adults, children, adolescents, and families.

Leave a Reply

